The Cripple Adventures – Weekend Edition

Oh boy, do I have a full weekend planned. Blog posts, cupcakes, cleaning, hunting for dismembered wildlife in the backyard…

Once I can move and feel my extremities again. Well, even the non-extreme portions of my body. People are supposed to be able to feel their sides, right?

You guessed it, the neuropathy and paralysis are back. How am I typing this blog post, you ask? Very carefully, and I’m going to pay for it later. Oh well.

 

are-you-fucking-kidding-me

 

5 surgeries and 8 incisions later, the nerves are supposed to have been moved, decompressed, repaired enough for the damage to heal. After the last operation it seemed that not only had the right lower arm and hand calmed down finally, but the left arm had stopped screaming and I would be able to use my hand. I’ve had a nice two and a half months of minimal twitching and mainly only-recovery pain. Laugh along with me when I tell you it’s now come to an end. The twitches, stabbing pain, lobster claw, and paralysis aren’t as extreme as they used to be, but they’re back and I can’t hurdle them.

Harsh reality started to set in after not being able to move my legs or my left side yesterday while Miss J was making dinner.

 

paralyzed

 

While I will be seeing Dr Torture (that’s what his name sounds like, seriously) when I’m back in Vegas for work, there’s not much I can do to be a regular human again unless I’m willing to plow my way through the symptoms, the pain, the disability.

There will be baking, and I’ll let you know how my new low-sugar whipped frosting recipe turns out. I’ve got a post planned about how the incisions have healed, if anyone’s interested in how to deal with minimizing the look of scars. There are D&D sessions to plan, character prep to do, and maps to draw. The basement needs to be cleaned and I can’t be asking Miss J to clean up after me.

 

Let me be clear: I’m not asking for pity. I’ll be damned if I let this stupid injury steal any more time from me.

And if it turns out to be an underlying neurological disorder causing all of these problems, then I’m well on my way to coping with whatever degeneration awaits.

 

poke your eye out

 

 

In the meantime, let’s all have a good laugh!

Categories: crippled, you gotta be kidding | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

