Sweet puppylove

I’m taking my lunch break at work today to tell you how much I love my dog.

Vince Lombardi once said that we should love God, our family, and the Green Bay Packers – in that order. I subscribe to that, but the only things I cherish more than the Packers are God and my puppy, Pedro.

ImagePetey is a purebred chocolate Lab, I adopted him from a lady who moved to Vegas from Sparks. She and her boyfriend/partner had gotten him together but they broke up and she ended up taking a job in California (I think?) where she wouldn’t be able to take him along.  As it was, he was already spending his days on a clothesline leash and being baby-gated into her living room so he wouldn’t “play” with her cats.

Pedro has been full of energy and love since the day I met him. It took him a while to bond and learn his new name, and even longer to learn how to listen and behave. He had anxiety issues when he came to live with me, and they certainly didn’t get any better for a while. The weekend after I adopted him I had my accident, and after a week of staying with an ex to help take care of me I came back home and Petey and I were on our own. Spending 24 hours a day with a mom who can’t do much to go out or walk him didn’t help him much but he’s grown phenomenally since then.

Petey is my protector, my lover, my heart. There was a time when someone was trying to get into my apartment and his big boy bark kept them away. I didn’t live in the best neighborhood, so walking a big dark dog with slobber all over him helped keep me safe in the evenings. Most people know Labs are big babies but there are enough dogs mixed with pits and boxers that you never can be sure, and people were always scared of him anyway like they didn’t know he was a Lab.  There were a couple of nights and days that were really tough for me and Petey would snuggle up on me and kiss me when I cried. It sounds pathetic, but when you’ve got nothing else it means all the world.

Sometimes I get frustrated with his high-energy antics, sometimes I can’t stand how smart he is since he’s always trying to get his way or play dumb. Even still, I wouldn’t trade him for any other dog. He is the happiest creature you’ve ever met – he has no mean bone in his body. He doesn’t hold a grudge, he doesn’t get angry, he loves everyone and everything. He’s my motivation to get out and be active and to look at life with a positive outlook.

Image

Mister Stinky is my main man, hands down.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

